Taufik Is Denied Again In Denmark Open Loss

By webadmin on 11:27 pm Oct 31, 2010
Category Archive

Ami Afriatni

Another shot at victory on the big stage, another blown chance for Indonesia’s Taufik Hidayat.

The country’s top men’s singles badminton player couldn’t close an otherwise impressive run at the Denmark Open Super Series, losing to home favorite Jan Jorgensen 21-19, 21-19 in the men’s singles final in Odense on Sunday.

The loss extended Taufik’s drought in the Super Series to four years, not exactly the ideal buildup heading into the Asian Games in Guangzhou, China, which open on Nov. 12.

With the top Chinese players absent and Denmark’s No. 1 men’s singles shuttler, Peter Hoeg Gade, having to withdraw because of a back injury, the Denmark Open was Taufik’s to lose.

He won his first three matches without dropping a game, before encountering some rough waters in his semifinal match against Du Pengyu of China on Saturday.

Du was the only Chinese player in the men’s draw, after high-profile teammates like Lin Dan elected to skip the tournament to focus on their preparations for the Asian Games.

The only unseeded player to reach the semifinals, Du gave Taufik a scare as he took the second game 21-17 after dropping the first 21-15. But the second-seeded Indonesian would not be denied as he won the deciding game 21-17 to reach the final.

The defeat in Denmark was Taufik’s third loss this year with a title on the line. He went down to Lee Chong Wei of Malaysia in the final of the Indonesia Open Super Series in June and the world championships in August.

In Sunday’s other finals, Thomas Laybourn and Kamilla Rytter Juhl gave the home crowd even more to cheer about as they won the mixed doubles title.

The Danish duo beat Nathan Robertson and Jenny Wallwork of England, 21-12, 12-21, 21-19, in 52 minutes to secure victory. Laybourn and Rytter Juhl reached the final by beating Indonesia’s Hendra Aprida Gunawan and Vita Marissa, 21-19, 21-11, on Saturday.

In women’s doubles, Miyuki Maeda and Satoko Suetsuna outlasted fellow Japanese shuttlers Shizuka Matuso and Mami Naito, 21-17, 21-14, to clinch the title.

The men’s doubles and women’s singles finals were played after press time.