Four Jakarta Municipalities Win Adipura Cleanliness Awards

By webadmin on 09:36 am Jun 06, 2012
Category Archive

Lenny Tristia Tambun

Four out of Jakarta’s five municipalities won the Adipura Award for cleanliness on Tuesday despite the fact that piles of garbage and heavily-polluted rivers can easily be seen in many parts of the capital.

West Jakarta was the only Jakarta municipality that failed to win the award this year, although it still received an Adipura certificate for the “cleanliness” of its traditional markets.

The other four municipalities — Central Jakarta, South Jakarta, East Jakarta and North Jakarta -— won the awards in the metropolitan city category, along with six other cities: Palembang, Medan, Tangerang, Semarang, Malang and Balikpapan.

The awards were handed over by President Susilo Bambang Yudhoyono to the heads of the regions during an awards ceremony at the Presidential Palace in Jakarta on Tuesday.

The head of the Jakarta Environmental Management Agency (BPLHD), Tauchid Tjakra Amidjaya, said that last year none of the five Jakarta municipalities won the cleanliness award.

In 2011, there were only two awardees, Surabaya and Palembang. In 2010, all of Jakarta’s five municipalities were Adipura recipients.

“The four municipalities won the [2012] Adipura awards because of their participation in the Environment Ministry’s program to enhance the quality of the environment,” Tauchid explained.

He added the winners were chosen based on a number of assessment criteria, including the condition of public facilities such as bus terminals, markets and schools, the condition of drain pipes and reforestation efforts.

Yudhoyono also distributed the Kalpataru environmental awards to eight individuals and three groups for their roles in environment-saving efforts on Tuesday.